Workers compensation is provided, and mandated in MA, for business owners with employees. The policy provides coverage for employees injured on the job.
The policy provides coverage for employees injured on the job or due to job related activities. Payment is provided to the worker for loss of wages, and medical and career rehabilitation needs, as well as, in the case of the employees death, benefits made out to the dependents of the employee.
Under Massachusetts workers’ compensation laws, the following are the benefit amounts a disabled worker is entitled to:
- Total and permanent incapacity: Two-thirds of the worker’s average weekly wage
- Total incapacity: 60 percent of the worker’s average weekly wage, up to 156 weeks
- Partial incapacity: 60 percent of the difference between the worker’s weekly wage before the injury and after the injury
In addition, an employee must wait five days after his or her injury to receive disability payments. However, if disability persists for 21 days or more, the worker is entitled to collect back pay for this waiting period.
IF YOU EMPLOY in the state of Massachusetts, you are obligated to carry Workers Compensation insurance.
An employee, defined in Black’s Law Dictionary, is “a person in the service of another under any contract of hire, express or implied, oral or written, where the employer has the power or right to control and direct the employee in the material details of how the work is to be performed.”